HomeNewsNortheast Times names Fall award winners

Northeast Times names Fall award winners

The best of the best in the Northeast. See who will be honored as this year’s fall sports winners.

Hailey O’Neill played a huge role in helping the Ryan girls soccer team win the Catholic League crown. PHOTO: JON GEIST

It was a memorable fall, and there were a lot of reasons to celebrate.

Northeast Philadelphia saw teams win championships, records set and both teams and players overachieve. It was your typical fall season with highs, lows and lots of reasons to celebrate.

- Advertisement -

That’s why we’re here. The Northeast Times is announcing its annual award winners. Today, we’ll start with our fall season winners. Winter and spring season winners will be announced later in the year, as well as overall winners for major awards.

The award winners will be honored on May 17 during the annual Northeast Sports Awards Banquet. Ticket information will be available as we get closer to the event.

Here is a list of the award winners.


Catholic League Player of the Year: Timmy Moulton, Archbishop Ryan

Much of Archbishop Ryan’s success this year centered around the offensive and defensive lines, and Timmy Moulton anchored both of them. The 6-foot-4, 250-pounder manned defensive tackle and offensive tackle and helped the Raiders advance to the Catholic League AAAAA championship game. He also played a huge role in Ryan’s victory over Father Judge in a battle of neighborhood rivals. He also played well in his team’s victory over Washington on Thanksgiving.

Moulton received interest from many schools, and eventually committed to the University of Massachusetts, where he will play next year.

Public League Player of the Year: Sam Karr, Abraham Lincoln

When Lincoln needed yards, it turned to Sam Karr, and he always came through.

Karr rushed for 2,030 yards with 25 touchdowns on the year. He also broke the Public League record for yards in a game with 418 against George Washington, also scoring seven touchdowns.

Karr also came through in the Railsplitters game against Father Judge, rushing for 200 yards and two scores in Lincoln’s loss to the Crusaders.

His heroics during the season led Lincoln to the Public League playoffs.

Karr has yet to pick a college, but is hoping to play at the next level next year.

Coach of the Year: Phil Gormley, Northeast

Last school year, the Vikings won the Public League championship, but in June they lost a lot of talented players to graduation. This year was slated to be a rebuilding year, but apparently Northeast wasn’t ready to go into that mode. Instead, the Vikings just kept winning.

Gormley led a talented team back to the Public League championship game, where the Vikings bounced Central in a blowout to repeat as champs. The Vikings then put on a strong showing against St. Joe’s Prep in the city championship game. After the Hawks defeated Northeast, they went on to play in the state championship game.

Northeast ran its offense to perfection and was one of the stingiest teams on defense this year, and it was led by a talented, but unheralded squad.


Catholic League Player of the Year: Will Stackhouse, Archbishop Ryan

Will Stackhouse did a little bit of everything for Ryan. The three-year starter contributed 11 goals and eight assists to help the Raiders advance to the Catholic League quarterfinals before falling to St. Joe’s Prep.

His best game of the year was arguably the team’s biggest win, a 2–0 triumph over Father Judge. In that game, Stackhouse scored one goal and added an assist.

“Will was such a great leader who plays with so much heart, passion and the will to win,” Ryan coach Ryan Haney said.

Next year, Stackhouse will continue his career at Holy Family.

Public League Player of the Year: Mohammed Khalafalla, Northeast

Once again, Northeast was one of the top teams in the city, and this year the Vikings were led by their sweeper, Mohammed Khalafalla.

Khalafalla anchored a defense that led the Vikings to another Public League championship. He also contributed offensively, keying the transition game and adding two goals on headers.

“He is very steady, and was very cool under pressure,” Northeast coach Kraig Feldman said. “He made great decisions, he’d control the ball and make strong decisions. He was a huge part of our success.”

Khalafalla is undecided on where he’ll attend college, but he does plan on playing soccer.

Coach of the Year: Kraig Feldman, Northeast

Northeast was once again the top team in the Public League, claiming its fourth straight championship, and this year the Vikings weren’t just satisfied with beating good teams in the Public League. Northeast loaded up its schedule to prepare for the state playoffs, and Feldman did his best to make sure the team wasn’t satisfied with being the best in its division.

Northeast also turned the tables on its biggest rival, Central. During the regular season, the Lancers got the best of Northeast, but the Vikings recovered in the Public League championship to earn the plaque.

The year was particularly impressive considering Northeast graduated most of its key players from the 2016 squad last June, and Feldman was able to reload to get the team back in the championship.


Catholic League Player of the Year: Hailey O’Neill, Archbishop Ryan

A year after seeing its four-year run as the best team in the Catholic League end, Ryan got back on top, and the Ragdolls did it with defense, allowing just one goal during Catholic League play. The key to the defense was centerback Hailey O’Neill, a senior.

Sure, the Ragdolls had players who could score, and the entire defense was steady, but O’Neill was the star of the show.

“She moved from forward when we needed some help and she was great,” Ryan coach Jon Geist said. “She’s the type of girl with no off button, she plays hard the entire game and she’s very smart.”

O’Neill has offers to play in college, though she’s unsure of where she’ll end up.

Public League Player of the Year: Arryana Coleman, Franklin Towne Charter

Franklin Towne Charter advanced to the Public League championship game once again this year, and the straw that stirred the drink was senior forward Arryana Coleman.

Coleman erupted for 11 goals and eight assists, and while her scoring touch meant a lot for the Warriors, it was her contagious attitude that was the best part of her game.

“As our team captain, she led by showing her commitment to the team and work ethic at practice every day,” Franklin Towne coach Brianna O’Donnell said. “As a student-athlete, she embodies the qualities necessary to be a leader on the soccer field.”

Coach of the Year: Jon Geist, Archbishop Ryan

During a scrimmage, the Ragdolls surrendered six goals to Neshaminy and it looked like Ryan could have been in for a long season.

They were, simply because once the games mattered, they won.

The Ragdolls surrendered just one goal during the Catholic League portion of their schedule and went on to win the Catholic League championship, and then advance to the PIAA Class AAAAAA playoffs.

Ryan suffered one loss during the regular season, and went on to defeat Lansdale Catholic, 1–0, in the championship game. ••

The Northeast Sports Awards Banquet will be held Thursday, May 17, at Philadelphia Fraternal Order of Police Lodge #5, at 11630 Caroline Road. Additional winners will be announced at the conclusion of the winter and spring seasons. For more information, visit NortheastTimes.com

broken clouds
61.3 ° F
63.8 °
58.5 °
68 %
75 %
61 °
57 °
72 °
72 °
70 °
- Advertisment -



Recent Articles

Seider pitching Franklin Towne to the top

Aubrey Seider has had an amazing high school career. The Franklin Towne Charter High School senior has been one of the best pitchers in the...