HomeNewsScholars: July 21, 2018

Scholars: July 21, 2018

The Northeast Times would like to congratulate the following college graduates, students who were named to their school’s dean’s list, and area residents who recently received special honors.

Elba Mendoza, an Early Childhood Education: Infant to Grade 4 student, has been named to the dean’s list at Northampton Community College.

Elizabethtown College announced the names of students whose outstanding academic performances have earned them the recognition of being included on the dean’s list. Local honorees are Megan Elmer (health and occupation major) and Jessica Fein (music therapy major). Students on the dean’s list are full-time undergraduate students who earn a semester grade point average of 3.60 or better in 14 or more credit hours, of which at least 12 credits are letter-graded coursework.

- Advertisement -

Two local residents were among more than 890 students who earned bachelor’s and associate’s degrees at the University of Scranton’s undergraduate commencement at the Mohegan Sun Arena in Wilkes-Barre. Students earning undergraduate degrees included Tori A. Matthews (media information technology) and Erik T. Rispo (accounting and finance).

Shanelle Uelli graduated with a master’s degree from St. Francis University of Loretto during commencement exercises.

Matthew Leahy, class of 2020, has been named to the dean’s list at the University of Vermont. Leahy is majoring in secondary education — social science in the College of Education and Social Services. To be named to the dean’s list, students must have a grade-point average of 3.0 or better and rank in the top 20 percent of their class.

Remi Adekanbi was named a member of the Alpha Sigma Lambda honor society while studying healthcare science at Alvernia University. Alpha Sigma Lambda is the premier national honor society for nontraditional adult students. Its aim is to recognize the special achievements of adults who accomplish academic excellence while facing competing interests of home and work.

Victoria Gowland was named a member of the National Residence Hall. Gowland is studying occupational therapy at Alvernia University and is a graduate of Little Flower High School. The National Residence Hall Honorary is the premier honorary supported by the leading international organization advocating for the interests and welfare of residence hall students, while also providing opportunities for their personal growth and development. NRHH strives to provide recognition for individuals who have contributed to the advancement of college and university housing.

Jessica Flanigan was named an officer of the Pi Theta Epsilon. Flanigan is studying biology at Alvernia University and is a graduate of MaST Community Charter School. Pi Theta Epsilon is a specialized honor society for occupational therapy students and alumni. The society recognizes and encourages superior scholarship among students enrolled in professional entry-level programs at accredited educational programs across the United States.

Linda Brown graduated from Central Penn College and participated in the college’s 136th commencement ceremony at the Forum in Harrisburg. Brown received a degree in business administration.

Cesar Capellan has been named to the Eastern New Mexico University dean’s list. To be eligible for the dean’s list, a student must complete a minimum of 15 credit hours with a GPA of 3.25 to 4.00.

Deirdre O’Leary, Archbishop Ryan class of 2012, graduated from the University of Notre Dame in South Bend, Indiana with a master’s in theology.

Mary O’Leary, Archbishop Ryan class of 2014, graduated from West Chester University summa cum laude with a degrees in psychology and women’s studies. ••

overcast clouds
39.1 ° F
41.1 °
35.8 °
79 %
96 %
42 °
42 °
54 °
54 °
50 °
- Advertisment -



Recent Articles

Playground upgrades at Mullin

City Department of Parks and Recreation Commissioner Orlando Rendon joined Councilman Mike Driscoll on Monday to cut the ribbon on a new playground, safety surfacing and...