HomeNews8th Police District honors officers of the year

8th Police District honors officers of the year

Police Officer Andrew Jericho, who shot a man who was pointing a gun at police, was named the 8th District Officer of the Year.

A hero’s honor: Deputy Commissioner Joseph Sullivan presents a plaque to 8th Police District Officer of the Year Andrew Jericho on Friday. JACK TOMCZUK / TIMES PHOTO

The 8th Police District held its Officers of the Year Award Ceremony and banquet Friday night at the Union League Golf Club at Torresdale.

Police Officer Andrew Jericho was named 2018 Officer of the Year for the way he handled a November incident involving an armed man in Pennypack Woods.

- Advertisement -

Jericho and his partner responded to 8753 Crispin St. on Nov. 13 for a report of a “man with a gun.” They encountered a man armed with a handgun who was involved in an argument with another man. He pointed the gun at the officers and said he wasn’t going to jail.

After telling the man to drop the gun several times, Jericho shot the man once in the thigh.

Authorities at the time identified the man as 66-year-old Patrick McGuinn. He was taken to the hospital in stable condition after the shooting.

Captain Adam Friedman, commander of the 8th District, praised Jericho’s actions and said McGuinn has since emailed police to say that the encounter “saved his life.”

“That incident set him straight,” Friedman said.

Another honored at Friday’s banquet was Susan Beckler, a crossing guard at St. Martha’s Parish School, who was presented with the 2018 School Crossing Guard of the Year Award.

Suzanne Paul was named Civilian Employee of the Year.

Police officers recognized for their efforts throughout the year on various squads included Cindy Caine, William Caine, Daniel Shellhammer, Daniel Rubin, Joseph Pawko, Harry Taylor and Mark Mazzoni.

Cpl. James Goodchild and officers Bruce Kobler and Stephen Herman were honored for 30 years in the police department.

Elected officials presented 8th Police District Officer of the Year Andrew Jericho with a citation for his accomplishments. JACK TOMCZUK / TIMES PHOTO

Among those honored for 25 years of service were Lt. John Boyle, Lt. John Venit, Sgt. Vincent Rodden, Cpl. Daniel Pfeiffer, Cpl. John Feenan and officers Christopher Jones, Joseph Kolodi, Gregory Sulock, David Gilmore, Teresa Rice and Dennis Clair.

Sgt. William McNamee and officers Edward Schoeffler, John Seymour, Maria Blaszcyk, Nicholas Marafino, Joseph Murphy, George Schmidt, William Caine and Francis Rafferty were recognized as 20-year veterans of the force.

Perfect attendance awards went to Friedman, Boyle, Feenan, Pfeiffer and officers Shellhammer, Anthony Dresher, Jose Gutierrez, John Judge, Elgin Rogers, Patricia Rosati, Jeffrey Stauffer and Robert Sweeney.

Dawn Schultze and Coleen Zimmerman received awards for 25 years of service as crossing guards.

The Police District Advisory Council Recognition Award went to Jack Tolchin, and McMenamin ShopRite and Mission BBQ were named businesses of the year.

All honorees received plaques from Friedman, Deputy Commissioner Joseph Sullivan and Inspector John Fleming and citations from Councilman At-Large Al Taubenberger, Sixth District Councilman Bobby Henon, state Rep. Ed Neilson and state Sen. John Sabatina Jr.

Also recognized at the banquet was Pearl Harbor survivor Alex Horanzy, 96, of Holme Circle.

The award ceremony was sponsored by the 8th Police District Advisory Council. ••

Jack Tomczuk can be reached at jtomczuk@newspapermediagroup.com

54.9 ° F
59.6 °
51.7 °
88 %
100 %
55 °
53 °
51 °
46 °
45 °
- Advertisment -



Recent Articles

Glen Foerd pipe organ back home after restoration

After a year-long restoration project, Glen Foerd’s pipe organ, built in 1902 by Philadelphia’s one-time C.S. Haskell company and installed in Glen Foerd’s Gilded...