HomeHome Page FeaturedSt. Martha dedicates Grotto of Remembrance

St. Martha dedicates Grotto of Remembrance

The congregation sings God Bless America after the blessing of the grotto.
From left: Aniyah Jones, Avery Miller, Patrick Houseman, Julianna Stratton and Avery Byrne.

St. Martha Parish on Saturday celebrated a Mass dedicating its Grotto of Remembrance.

The Rev. Jonathan Dalin, the pastor, and Deacon Steve Guckin presided during the Mass. Toward the end of Mass, Dalin read a prayer that Army Lt. Col. Robert Lee Wolverton spoke to his men before D-Day. Wolverton was killed in the battle.

- Advertisement -

The ceremony, organized by parishioner Rich Konstance, featured a procession of the colors. The following veterans carried flags: Joseph Fleming (Army), Bob Sebaczo (Marine Corps), Greg Smith (Navy), Beth Ann Dieiz (Air Force), Lorraine Kolibabek (Coast Guard), Ed Bonk (POW/MIA) and Rich Konstance (USA).

Archbishop Ryan junior Christopher Yengbeh, a St. Martha graduate, sang the national anthem.

St. Martha students Aniyah Jones, Avery Miller, Patrick Houseman, Julianna Stratton, Avery Byrne and Jarelly Esteban were asked to carry a book of remembrance and a St. Michael Icon for Overwatch to the grotto.

Knights of Columbus leaders John Biancaniello, George Landis, Art Calvo and Scott Lash pushed the remembrance altar to the grotto.

After Dalin blessed the grotto, the congregation sang God Bless America.

The grotto, in the back of the church, includes stained glass, statues, flags, candles, a crucifix, pictures of St. Martha veterans and a portrait of St. Pope John Paul II. ••

few clouds
58.9 ° F
61.9 °
54.3 °
75 %
20 %
72 °
74 °
79 °
77 °
84 °
- Advertisment -



Recent Articles

St. Dom Catholic Daughters honor education contest winners

Catholic Daughters of the Americas, Court #2222, St. Dominic Parish, last week held its annual education contest reception, honoring 20 fourth- through eighth-grade students...