Home News Parker vs. Oh for mayor

Parker vs. Oh for mayor

Colleen McIntyre Osborne and Christy Brady celebrated victory at Sprinkler Fitters Local 692.
John Sabatina and supporters hanging out late night at Sprinkler Fitters Local 692.

Cherelle Parker won six wards in the Lower Northeast en route to victory in last week’s Democratic mayoral primary.

Rebecca Rhynhart won the Fox Chase-based 63rd Ward and finished second in the primary, just ahead of Helen Gym.

Allan Domb won the 55th, 56th, 57nd, 58th, 64th, 65th and 66th wards, but totaled only 11 percent citywide for a fourth-place finish.

Jeff Brown placed fifth in the nine-candidate field.

Parker, who benefited from building trades money and overwhelming support from black voters, will face Republican David Oh in the general election.

Meanwhile, Fox Chase resident Christy Brady won the Democratic primary for city controller, taking 46 percent in a three-person race. She’ll face Republican Aaron Bashir in the general election.

Rhawnhurst resident John Sabatina was the endorsed Democrat for register of wills and defeated incumbent Tracey Gordon in a close race, with two others trailing. Sabatina’s opponent in November will be Republican Linwood Holland.

Brady, Sabatina and Crestmont Farms resident Colleen McIntyre Osborne – who won the Democratic primary for Municipal Court – all celebrated at Sprinkler Fitters Local 692.

Local 692 boss Wayne Miller and city AFL-CIO president Danny Bauder celebrated the relatively easy victories by Brady and Osborne. In a separate room, state Rep. Ed Neilson and former Sheriff Jewel Williams joined Sabatina, who left about 1 a.m. with a narrow lead, but votes still to be counted.

In the Democratic primary for sheriff, incumbent Rochelle Bilal edged Michael Untermeyer, with a third candidate far behind. Republican Mark LaVelle will challenge Bilal in the fall.

For City Council at large, the Democratic winners were Isaiah Thomas, Katherine Gilmore Richardson, Rue Landau, Nina Ahmad and Jim Harrity. The Republican winners were Drew Murray, Frank Cristinzio, Gary Grisafi, Jim Hasher and Mary Jane Kelly, with Sam Oropeza placing sixth, out of the running.

The Democrats are shoo-ins in the general election, with Republicans battling it out with the Working Families Party for the other two seats. Three Republicans will likely drop out of the race.

In district Council races, incumbents Quetcy Lozada (7th) and Anthony Phillips (9th) won Democratic primaries.

Democratic winners for Common Pleas Court were Natasha Taylor-Smith, Tamika Washington, Samantha Williams, Kay Yu, John Padova, Chesley Lightsey, Brian McLaughlin, Damaris Garcia, Caroline Turner and Jessica Brown.

Barbara Thomson and Colleen Osborne won the primary for Municipal Court.

Statewide, Superior Court Judge Dan McCaffery, a Torresdale resident, won the Democratic nomination for Supreme Court. The Republican winner was Carolyn Carluccio, president judge of Montgomery County Common Pleas Court.

Jill Beck and Timika Lane won the Democratic primary for Superior Court.

The winners for Commonwealth Court were Democrat Matthew Wolf and Republican Megan Martin.

City voters approved three proposed charter changes but, in a rarity, rejected one proposed change. More than 53 percent said no to an amendment that would have made employees of the Citizens Police Oversight Commission exempt from civil service hiring requirements.

Full results are at vote.phila.gov/results and https://www.electionreturns.pa.gov/. ••

Exit mobile version