Home Home Page Featured City leadership seated

City leadership seated

Councilman Mike Driscoll
Councilman Brian O’Neill

Winning candidates in November’s municipal election gathered on Tuesday at The Met for their installation ceremonies.

Cherelle Parker was sworn in as the city’s first woman mayor and the 100th overall.

The 17-member City Council will consist of 14 Democrats, one Republican and two members of the Working Families Party.

Kenyatta Johnson was elected as Council president, with Katherine Gilmore Richardson as majority leader, Isaiah Thomas as whip and Cindy Bass as deputy whip.

The Northeast will be represented by Brian O’Neill (10th district), the only Republican; Mike Driscoll (6th district); Anthony Phillips (9th district), who was elected to replace Parker when she resigned to run for mayor; and Quetcy Lozada (7th district).

The city’s three incumbent election commissioners – Lisa Deeley, Omar Sabir and Seth Bluestein – took the oath of office for four-year terms.

Sheriff Rochelle Bilal is also starting another four-year term.

John Sabatina took office as Register of Wills.

New City Controller Christy Brady was also on hand. She was elected in November to serve the unexpired term of Rebecca Rhynhart, who resigned to run for mayor. Brady took office once votes were certified.

Also sworn in were newly elected and retained judges of Common Pleas and Municipal Court.

As for Parker, she had a busy first day.

After delivering her inaugural address, she traveled to a Kensington elementary school to administer the oath of office to new Police Commissioner Kevin Bethel.

Later, she signed three executive orders, including one declaring a public safety emergency in Philadelphia and another removing the requirement for a college degree for certain city jobs.

Next, Parker and her cabinet held a news conference.

The day ended with a celebration at The Fillmore. ••

Exit mobile version