Crispin brings home 3 football titles

The Crispin Pee Wee team beat Ambler Whitpain 30-6 for the championship. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

One championship is nice.

Three is tremendous.

So it’s fair to say Crispin had a tremendous fall season.

The outfit brought home three football championships this year, winning championships in the Pee Wee division, the Midget division and the Junior division.

All the games, which were played on Nov. 21, were under the umbrella of the Keystone State League. According to Crispin, it was the first time a team won three all three championships in the same league.

The 90-pound team, which won the Pee Wee championship, knocked off Ambler Whitpain 30-6. In that game, Frankie Bowman caught a touchdown pass from Angel Miranda, and Sylvan Waleh rushed for four touchdowns and more than 100 yards. The game was sealed on an interception by Ryan Hunte, giving the team its second straight championship campaign.

The 105-pound team, playing in the Midget championship, knocked off previously unbeaten Ambler Whitpain 14-0. Crispin was led by Liam Hoey, who rushed for both touchdowns and went over 100 yards in the win.

The Junior team, which plays in the 125-pound division, beat Southampton 27-14. Jeff Wah rushed for three touchdowns and Giovanni Pelle hauled in a touchdown pass from Christian Haigh for Crispin, which dominated the second half after a 14-14 score at halftime.

The Crispin Midget team knocked off previously unbeaten Ambler Whitpain 14-0. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

The entire organization was proud of the accomplishments, especially considering the season was played under the cloud of COVID-19, which made it difficult to play games and even practice, particularly in the city of Philadelphia.

“I think it just goes to show what a community can accomplish when coming together to reach the goal of even having a football season and that’s what I think everyone at the program did from the coaches to parents and the children,” said Brian Ferry, the coach of the Pee Wee team. “With all of the circumstances surrounding the season, it is a real accomplishment for these kids to have a season, and winning three championships is even more of a testament to the hard work and dedication of everyone at Crispin.”

The members of the Pee Wee team are Ryan Hunte, Angel Miranda, Jaiden Concepcion, Jake Glackin, Sylvan Waleh, Matthew Negron, Cory Schultz, Kyree Peterson, Mikey Bowman, Shawn Dorin, Gavin Gallagher, Joshua Kelly, Erik Medina, Jerachmerl Guillermo, James Stephenson, Scott McCune, Andrew Hunte, George Roken, James Pine, Lucas O’Brien, Eric Wechsier, Jason Patton, Matteo Iorio, Seamus Sickel, Pierre Smith, Jeremy Ortiz, Mark Sroka, Braylon Tygh, Lucas Anguilli, Christopher Kelly, Frankie Bowman, Kevin Schmanek, Howard Sherman and Shawn Duffy. Ferry is the coach.

The Midget team includes Chase Jones, Caden Doebley, Menesia Yeanay, Liam Hoey, Jacob Pearson, Cody Emanuel, Corey Boykin, Dean Madden, Anthony Conte, Christian DeFelice, Gerald Kane, Jeremy Thompson, Anthony Ferrara, Aiden McCool, Gavin Hayes, Dyshon Slocum, John Weston, Ryan McCorry, Joshua Canales, Xavier Pierre, Anthony Correa, James Liberty, Jaden Deweever, Michael O’Neill, Jeffrey Kolakowski, Frank Delrossi, Peyton Jordan, Alfred Glackin and Devin Burger. The coach is Marc Costanzo.

Symir Tatum, Christian Haigh, Ammauri Tucker, Max Conti, Jeffrey Wah, Daniel Gies, Justus Gaskin, Connor Davis, Jayden Reaves, Priest Glover, Omari Thomas, James Conte, James Walker, Jerell Johnson, Devon Miranda, Ryan Deweever, David Bonilla, Geovanni Pelley, Daniel Greenwood, Caleb Dales, Raily Cariel, Michael Garcia, Kevyn Pagan, Julian Lebron, Lucas Reis, Joseph McHenry, Cole Hayes, William Mont, Daniel Font, Omar Caban, Jayden Warner, Laben Jowers and Aiden Quinn. The coach is Paul Hartigan.

Crispin won the Junior championship by besting Southampton 27-14. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO