Ryan wins District 12 wrestling title

Nick Marchesano and the Archbishop Ryan High School wrestling team won the District 12 championship. CONTRIBUTED

For the second week in a row, the Archbishop Ryan High School wrestling team wears the crown.

A week after winning the Catholic League individual tournament, the Raiders won the District 12 crown individual tournament, scoring 180 points. Next was Father Judge at 141. Other locals were Northeast (sixth place, 87), Frankford (13th place, 19), George Washington (16th, 17) and Franklin Towne Charter (17th place, 15).

Ryan saw Nick Marchesano, Jon Swift, Liam O’Toole and Junior Orantes win district championships. Judge had three champions, Sean Logue, Eamonn Logue and Matt Kidwell.

Wrestlers who finished in the top five positions will move on to the regional tournament this weekend.

Second place finishers include Ricky Horger (Ryan), Branden Spicer (Judge) and Alassane Sow (Northeast).

Third-place finishers include Sean O’Toole (Ryan), Max Edwards (Judge), Emmanuel Santana (Northeast), Nate Asia Northeast), Kishore Owusu (Northeast), Dillon Shamanow (Ryan) and Jose Lage (Judge).

Fourth-place finishers were Thomas Palinkas (Judge) and Manasse Hyllamoor (Frankford).

Fifth-place finishers were Amir Costin (Frankford), Brion Milligan (Ryan), Nick Rehfuss (Ryan), Josh Garcia (Northeast), Sebastian Mesa (Ryan), Gehad Mohammad (Northeast) and Imani Bell (Ryan).